BTEC qualifications are actually technical awards, technical certificates, applied generals and tech levels but because students are familiar with the term ‘BTEC’ we have given them their own section.

BTECs taught as applied generals are vocational qualifications that provide underpinning knowledge for a work sector but do not usually qualify students to work in the sector. However, a BTEC that is a technical certificate or tech level can act as a ‘licence to practise’ in certain roles. For example, a BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Childcare and Education may be suitable for employers in roles such as nursery assistant, early years worker or education support assistant in a school.

BTECs are available in broad sector areas such as health and social care, childcare and education, engineering, construction, etc.

There are 3 levels of qualification:

BTEC awards /BTEC introductory

BTEC Level 2 award/certificates

BTECs at Level 3 have some equivalence to A-levels, for example:

  • BTEC Level 3 Certificate /Technical certificate = 160 -180 GLH or (approx. ½ A-level)
  • BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma = 360 GLH (approx. 1 A-level)
  • BTEC 90 Credit Diploma = 540 GLH (between 1-2 A-levels
  • BTEC Level 3 Diploma = 720 (between 1-2 A-levels
  • BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma = 1080 GLH (equivalent to 3 A-levels)

*GLH is only a guide and some sectors have different GLH for their qualifications

Find out more on the Pearson website.

To find out more about other qualifications return to the Qualifications page.

Our partners